The building, now known as the “Back Behind Saloon Restaurant”, was previously owned by Ed Dwyer, a merchant marine and naval officer (his photo is left of the fireplace). Constructed in the early 1900’s the building was moved to its present location upon the reconstruction of U.S. route 4. In 1958, the Killington Ski Area was opened by Preston Smith, an ambitious ski area visionary from Connecticut. At that time, the building provided lodging for skiers in winter and good times for summer visitors as well. In 1973, three friends from Long Island moved to Vermont with a goal to create what you see now. Eight months before opening on July 5, 1974 renovations began. An old barn sacrificed it’s siding and beams for much of the interior design. The caboose, a dining area favorite was built over 100 years ago. The unique fireplace was made with collected stones including fossils and petrified wood. The brightly colored juke box is an authentic 1946 post war model 1015 from Wurlitzer Music Machine Company. The magnificent stained glass bar back was rescued from an old ice cream soda fountain shop in Methuen, Massachusetts. There are many treasured pieces here, so please browse and enjoy.
The name, “Back Behind Saloon Restaurant”, was selected since the building was not visible from any road at the time of opening in 1974.
Our sincere thanks to Dick Blaney and Jill for the opportunity to continue the legend of the “Back Behind Saloon Restaurant.”